§ 17.1-300

Composition of Court; quorum; Chief Justice

The Supreme Court shall consist of seven justices, any four of whom convened shall constitute a quorum. The Chief Justice shall be elected by majority vote of the justices of the Supreme Court to serve a term of four years. An eligible justice may decline to serve as Chief Justice, or a Chief Justice may resign as such, without thereby relinquishing his membership on the Court as a justice thereof.


Code 1919, § 5862, § 17-93; 1938, p. 133; 1971, Ex. Sess., c. 51; 1998, c. 872; 2002, cc. 43, 552.


  • Plain Text
  • JSON
  • XML