A. A resident owner of any passenger car, pickup or panel truck, moped, autocycle, or motorcycle, other than those provided for in § 46.2-652, that has been duly registered for the current calendar year in another state or country and that at all times when operated in the Commonwealth displays the license plate or plates issued for the vehicle in the other state or country, may operate or permit the operation of the passenger car, pickup or panel truck, moped, autocycle, or motorcycle within or partly within the Commonwealth for the first 30 days of his residency in the Commonwealth without registering the passenger car, pickup or panel truck, moped, autocycle, or motorcycle or paying any fees to the Commonwealth.
B. In addition to any penalty authorized under this title, any locality may adopt an ordinance imposing a penalty of up to $ 250 upon the resident owner of any motor vehicle that, following the end of the 30-day period provided in subsection A, is required to be registered in Virginia but has not been so registered. The locality may impose the penalty upon the resident owner annually for as long as the motor vehicle remains unregistered in Virginia. The ordinance shall set forth a reasonable method for assessing and collecting the penalty, whether by civil, criminal, or administrative process, and shall identify the employees or agents of the locality who are to execute such assessment and collection.
1976, c. 17, § 46.1-41.1; 1980, c. 53; 1989, c. 727; 2013, cc. 347, 783; 2014, cc. 53, 256; 2016, c. 131.