§ 2.2-2508

(Repealed effective October 1, 2016) Virginia Commission for the Arts; official agency to receive and disburse funds from National Foundation on the Arts; membership; terms; compensation

A. The Virginia Commission for the Arts (the “Commission”) is established as an advisory commission within the meaning of § 2.2-2100, in the executive branch of state government.

B. The Commission is designated the official agency of the Commonwealth to receive and disburse any funds made available to the Commonwealth by the National Foundation on the Arts.

C. The Commission shall consist of thirteen members appointed by the Governor subject to confirmation by the General Assembly. No employee of the Commonwealth or member of the General Assembly shall be eligible for appointment as a member of the Commission. At least one member, but no more than two members, shall be appointed from each Congressional district in the Commonwealth.

D. Except for initial appointments, each member shall serve a five-years term; provided that no member of the Commission who serves a full five-year term shall be eligible for appointment during the five-year period following the expiration of his term. All vacancies shall be filled for the balance of the unexpired term in the same manner as original appointments.

E. The Commission shall designate one of its members as chairman. A majority of the members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum.

F. The members of the Commission shall not receive any compensation for their services, but shall be reimbursed for the reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the discharge of their duties as provided in § 2.2-2825.


1968, c. 567, §§ 9-84.01:1, 9-84.02, 9-84.03; 1979, c. 314; 2001, c. 844.


  • Plain Text
  • JSON
  • XML