§ 22.1-356

The Hampton Roads Museum Consortium created; region defined; governing board

A. The Hampton Roads Museum Consortium is hereby established and shall hereinafter be referred to as the Consortium. For the purposes of this chapter and the work of the Consortium, “Hampton Roads” shall include the jurisdictions located within the boundaries of Planning District 23, including the Counties of Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, Southampton, and York; and the Cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg. The Consortium may consist of any or all accredited museums located within Hampton Roads that are not state agencies. Other museums and cultural facilities located in Hampton Roads may join the Consortium upon the approval of the governing board. The governing board of the Consortium shall consist of the chief executive officer of each of the member museums. The region’s legislators may serve as nonvoting, advisory members to assist in the performance of the Consortium’s duties.

B. No board members shall receive compensation or reimbursement for expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. The board shall elect a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its members and may provide such rules as it considers appropriate concerning its membership, quorum, and establishment of committees.


2001, c. 472.


  • Plain Text
  • JSON
  • XML