§ 23-231.3

(Repealed effective October 1, 2016) Membership of governing board; terms; compensation; officers

A. The Center shall be governed by a 23-member Board of Trustees, consisting of the Director of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia or his designee; the Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System or his designee; the presidents or chancellors, as appropriate, or their designees of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Radford University, the University of Virginia, the University of Virginia’s College at Wise, Old Dominion University, Emory and Henry College, Virginia Intermont College, and Virginia Highlands Community College; four members of the House of Delegates to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates; two members of the Senate to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; and seven nonlegislative citizen members to be appointed by the Governor, representing Southwest public education and area business and industry, including one school division superintendent, one public school teacher, two business and industry leaders, and three persons, one each representing the technology, tourism, and health care industries, respectively. Nonlegislative citizen members of the Board shall be chosen from among residents of the Southwest region of the Commonwealth and shall be citizens of the Commonwealth.

B. Legislative members and the representatives of the State Council, the Virginia Community College System, and the named institutions of higher education shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. After the initial staggering of terms, all nonlegislative citizen appointments shall be for terms of four years, except that appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments.No nonlegislative citizen member of the Board shall be eligible to serve more than two successive four-year terms, but after the expiration of the remainder of a term to which appointed to fill a vacancy, two additional four-year terms may be served by such member if appointed thereto.

C. Nonlegislative citizen members shall not be entitled to compensation for their services. Legislative members of the Board shall be compensated as provided in § 30-19.12, and all members of the Board shall be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties in the work of the Center as provided in §§ 2.2-2813 and 2.2-2825. The funding for the costs of compensation and expenses of the members shall be provided by the Center.

D. The Board shall elect a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its members.


1991, c. 627; 1992, c. 420; 1996, cc. 135, 763; 1998, c. 78; 1999, cc. 424, 437; 2000, c. 89; 2002, c. 292; 2004, c. 1000; 2005, c. 550.


  • Plain Text
  • JSON
  • XML