§ 23-297

(Repealed effective October 1, 2016) Board of Trustees; membership; terms; officers and committees; compensation

The Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia shall be administered by a Board of Trustees consisting of no more than 25 members. The members shall be appointed as follows: five members of the House of Delegates shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates; three members of the Senate shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; and nine nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed by the Governor. The Governor may appoint, upon recommendation of the Board of Trustees, eight additional nonlegislative members for four-year terms who may be nonresidents of the Commonwealth and who shall serve at no expense to the Commonwealth.Legislative members shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. After the initial staggering of terms, nonlegislative members appointed shall serve for four-year terms. Appointments to fill vacancies shall be made for the unexpired term. All members may be reappointed.The Board of Trustees shall elect a chairman, vice-chairman, and such other officers as it deems necessary. Seven or more of the members of the Board of Trustees shall constitute an executive committee.The Board of Trustees shall be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties as provided in §§ 2.2-2813 and 2.2-2825 and shall be compensated at the per diem rate established for members of the General Assembly for meetings as provided in § 30-19.12. Funding for the costs of compensation and expenses of the members shall be provided by the Frontier Culture Museum.


2000, c. 541; 2005, c. 758.


  • Plain Text
  • JSON
  • XML