§ 30-339

(Expires July 1, 2017) Health Insurance Reform Commission established; membership; terms

A. The Health Insurance Reform Commission (the Commission) is established in the legislative branch of state government.

B. The Commission shall consist of 10 members that include eight legislative members and two nonvoting ex officio members as follows: four members of the House Committee on Commerce and Labor appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of Delegates; four members of the Senate Committee on Commerce and Labor appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; and the Secretary of Health and Human Resources and the Commissioner of Insurance, or their designees.

C. Members of the Commission shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. Appointments to fill vacancies, other than by expiration of a term, shall be for the unexpired terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments. All members may be reappointed.

D. The Commission annually shall elect a chairman and vice-chairman from among its membership, who shall be members of the General Assembly.


2013, c. 709.


  • Plain Text
  • JSON
  • XML