§ 33.2-2201

Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel District

The Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel District is hereby created as a political subdivision of the Commonwealth. The District shall comprise the area included in the boundaries of the Counties of Accomack and Northampton; within the corporate limits of the Cities of Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach; and the area of Chesapeake Bay between these political subdivisions. This entity may sue and be sued under the name Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel District. Through its governing board, the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission, the District may plead and be impleaded and contract with individuals, partnerships, associations, private corporations, municipal corporations, political subdivisions of the Commonwealth, and the federal government or any agency thereof having any interest or title in and to property, rights, easements, or franchises authorized to be acquired by this chapter.


1954, c. 693; 1956, c. 462; 1962, c. 605; 2014, c. 805.


  • Plain Text
  • JSON
  • XML